Help

Access to documents

The "Digital collections" tab provides access to the complete list of documents, including some books presented in the "Virtual exhibitions" tab.

It is also possible to access the documents by performing a search.

The simple search module is systematically accessible on all pages of the site and allows you to search for documents based on one or more keywords. These keywords can be combined with the AND, OR and NOT operators. AND is the operator applied by default if several words are entered in the bar of research. The simple search covers all fields in the records describing the scanned documents and include data from digitized documents (tables of contents and full texts). All you have to do is type the first letters of a word for the search engine to complete and propose the terms starting by the entered character string. Based on lemmatization, the search engine offers results containing terms with the same root, but not limited to character case (lower/upper case).

The advanced search module allows you to target your search on one or more fields of the records describing digitized documents or on summaries and captions or on the full text. The drop-down menu AND/OR/EXCEPT allows you to combine the different search criteria.

The use of quotation marks allows you to search for an exact expression. The truncation character is the asterisk (e. g. "Rom*" for "Rome", "Roma", "Roman", "Romani", "Romani"...).

 

Displaying search results

It is possible to filter the results of a search by using the filters on the right side of the page (e. g. author, publisher, country, publishing city, etc.). The platform allows you to return to the initial list by deselecting the filters.

It is also possible to refine the list of results by setting:

  • the number of displayed results per page (10, 20 or 50),
  • the sorting of the results (by title or date),
  • the display mode (thumbnail mosaic, table, map of publishing cities or timeline).

The "show/hide extract" button in the results record list indicates that the searched word is present in the text of the book. It allows you to view the searched word in its context and, by clicking on See, one can access the page on which the word is displayed with a highlighted color.

The result lists can be printed.

The "bookmark results" button in the list of result records indicates that the searched word is present in the table of contents.

 

Consultation of digital documents

The detailed record

From the list of search results, clicking on the desired title gives access to the detailed record of the document from which it is possible to print, send by e-mail or share the document on social media.

Displaying the document

Clicking on the thumbnail opens the scanned document.

The left side of the viewer ("Summaries and Legends" or "Bookmarks") describes the structure of the document. These are pagination, foliation, table of contents or legends, depending on the case. Each bookmark is clickable and provides direct access to the corresponding image. At the bottom of the viewer, different settings and features are available: information, thumbnails, facing pages, single page, printing or download the files, see the bookmarks, search, see the OCR text... When moving your mouse over each icon, a tooltip describing it appears.

Collaborative annotation

With the annotation tool, data or bibliographic annotations can be added in an individual way to the documents on the presentation page.

 

Personal account

Creating a personal account allows the user to create baskets of records and send them by email. All accounts will be deleted after one year of inactivity.

 

Image reuse

Requests for the reuse of images or the provision of high definition files must be sent by email to library@epfl.ch.

Aide

Accès aux documents

L’onglet « Collections numérisées » permet d’accéder à la liste complète des documents, dont certains ouvrages remarquables sont présentés dans l’onglet « Exposition virtuelle ».

Il est également possible d’accéder aux documents en effectuant une recherche.

Le module de recherche simple est systématiquement accessible sur toutes les pages du site et permet de chercher des documents à partir d’un ou plusieurs mots-clés. Ces mots-clés peuvent être combinés avec les opérateurs AND, OR et NOT. AND est l’opérateur appliqué par défaut si plusieurs mots sont saisis dans la barre de recherche. La recherche simple porte sur tous les champs des notices décrivant les documents numérisés ainsi que sur les données des documents numérisés (tables des matières et textes intégraux). Il suffit de taper les premières lettres d'un mot pour que le moteur de recherche complète et propose les termes commençant par la chaîne de caractères saisie. Basé sur la lemmatisation, le moteur de recherche propose des résultats contenant des termes ayant la même racine, sans se limiter à la casse des caractères (minuscule/majuscule).

Le module de recherche avancée permet de cibler la recherche sur un ou plusieurs champs des notices décrivant les documents numérisés ou sur les sommaires et légendes ou encore sur le texte intégral. Le menu déroulant ET/OU/SAUF permet de combiner les différents critères de recherche.

L'utilisation de guillemets permet de chercher une expression exacte. Le caractère de troncature est l'astérisque (ex. : «Rom*» pour «Rome», «Roma», «Roman», «Romani»…).

 

Affichage des résultats de recherche

Il est possible de filtrer les résultats d'une recherche en utilisant les facettes à droite de la page (par ex. auteur, éditeur, pays, ville d'édition, etc.). La plateforme permet de revenir à la liste initiale en décochant les filtres.

Il est également possible d’affiner la liste de résultats en paramétrant :

  • le nombre de résultats affichés par page (10, 20 ou 50),
  • le tri des résultats (par titre ou par date),
  • le mode d'affichage (mosaïque de vignettes, tableau, carte des villes d’édition ou frise chronologique).

Le bouton « afficher/masquer un extrait » dans la liste de notices des résultats indique que le mot recherché est présent dans le texte de l'ouvrage. Il permet de visualiser le mot recherché dans son contexte et, en cliquant sur Voir, d'accéder à la page concernée sur laquelle le mot s'affiche avec un surlignage de couleur.

Les listes de résultats peuvent être imprimées.

Le bouton « résultats des signets » dans la liste des notices des résultats indique que le mot recherché est présent dans la table des matières.

 

Consultation des documents numériques

La notice détaillée

Depuis la liste de résultats de recherche, cliquer sur le titre désiré permet d'accéder à la notice détaillée du document à partir de laquelle il est possible d’imprimer, d'envoyer par e-mail ou de partager le document sur les réseaux sociaux.

Affichage du document

Cliquer sur la vignette permet ensuite d'ouvrir le document numérisé.

La partie gauche de la visionneuse (« Sommaires et légendes » ou « Signets ») décrit la structure du document. Il s'agit selon les cas de la pagination, de la foliotation, de la table des matières ou des légendes. Chaque signet est cliquable et permet d'accéder directement à l'image correspondante. En bas de la visionneuse, différents réglages et fonctionnalités sont disponibles : informations, vignettes, pages en regard, page simple, impression ou téléchargement des fichiers, voir les signets, recherche, voir le texte OCR… Au passage de la souris sur chaque icône, une info-bulle les décrivant apparaît.

Annotation collaborative

Avec l’outil d’annotation, des données ou des annotations bibliographiques peuvent être ajoutées de manière individuelle aux documents sur la page de présentation.

 

Compte personnel

La création d’un compte utilisateur permet au visiteur de constituer des paniers de notices et de se les envoyer par e-mail. Tout compte sera supprimé après une année d’inactivité.

 

Réutilisation d'images

Les demandes concernant la réutilisation des images ou la fourniture de fichiers en haute définition doivent être adressées par e-mail à library@epfl.ch.