Collection description

The EPFL Library's collection of precious books consists of some 600 books (more than 900 volumes), dating from the 15th to the 19th century. This valuable collection has been compiled to illustrate the areas of the history and philosophy of science, and more particularly the scientific work of Swiss authors. It particularly highlights, through its humanist perspective, the relationship between man and scientific progress. All the documents in this collection are referenced in BEAST, the catalogue of the EPFL Library.

The precious collection of the EPFL Library shines through three major qualities:

  • Plurilingualism: in addition to Latin books, the precious collection also includes many books published in French, German, Italian or English.
  • Scientific palette: the various sciences and techniques are all represented in the old collection of EPFL and most of the time by the best authors. Swiss scientists also play their part, from Jean-Pierre de Crousaz to Simon Lhuilier and Loys de Chesaux to Develey, as well as the great mathematicians Daniel and Johann Bernoulli.
  • Iconographic richness: EPFL's collection is particularly rich in natural history books, architecture and urban planning, military art and fortification, land and maritime engineering, including many superb boards (often folding) that are often in excellent condition.

Although this precious collection is relatively small in size, it has an undeniable interest. The main objective of the EPFL Library is to qualitatively complete the digital heritage already accessible online and to justify the interest of digitization, the selection of documents to be digitized is based on three main criteria:

  • there is no accessible digitization of the work in question;
  • a digitization exists, but its quality is not optimal (missing image, truncated text, etc.);
  • a digitization exists, but the texts contained have not been transcribed by OCR or, if they have been, the processing quality is not satisfactory (shift of the OCR layer with respect to the image).

PLUME is intended to be enriched over time and to welcome new digitized works.

Description du fonds

La collection d’ouvrages précieux de la Bibliothèque de l’EPFL est composée de quelques 600 ouvrages (plus de 900 volumes), datant du XV° au XIX° siècle. Ce fonds précieux a été constitué afin d’illustrer les domaines de l’histoire et de la philosophie des sciences, et plus spécialement les travaux scientifiques d’auteurs suisses. Il met particulièrement en évidence, de par son éclairage humaniste, le rapport entre l’homme et les avancées scientifiques. Tous les documents de ce fonds sont référencés dans BEAST, le catalogue de la Bibliothèque de l’EPFL.

Le fonds précieux de la Bibliothèque de l’EPFL brille par trois qualités majeures :

  • Plurilinguisme : en dehors des ouvrages en latin, le fonds précieux comporte de nombreux livres publiés aussi bien en français qu’en allemand, en italien ou encore en anglais.
  • Palette scientifique : les diverses sciences ainsi que les techniques sont toutes représentées dans le fonds ancien de l’EPFL et la plupart du temps par les meilleurs auteurs. Les savants suisses y tiennent aussi leur place, de Jean-Pierre de Crousaz à Simon Lhuilier et de Loys de Chesaux à Develey, en passant par les grands mathématiciens Daniel et Johann Bernoulli.
  • Richesse iconographique : la collection de l’EPFL est tout particulièrement riche en ouvrages d’histoire naturelle, d’architecture et d’urbanisme, d’art militaire et de fortification, de génie terrestre et maritime, dont les nombreuses et superbes planches (souvent dépliantes) sont souvent en excellent état.

Bien que ce fonds précieux soit relativement modeste de par sa taille, les ouvrages qui le constituent présentent un intérêt indéniable. L’objectif principal de la Bibliothèque de l’EPFL étant de compléter qualitativement le patrimoine numérique déjà accessible en ligne et de justifier l’intérêt d’une numérisation, la sélection des documents à numériser se base sur trois critères principaux :

  • il n’existe pas de numérisation accessible du titre concerné ;
  • une numérisation existe, mais sa qualité n’est pas optimale (image manquante, texte tronqué, etc.) ;
  • une numérisation existe, mais les textes contenus n’ont pas été transcrits par OCR ou, s’ils l’ont été, la qualité du traitement n’est pas satisfaisante (décalage de la couche OCR par rapport à l’image).

PLUME a vocation à s’enrichir au fil du temps et à accueillir de nouveaux ouvrages numérisés.